Support a step by step merge use case. Manual edits vanished without a warning.
Created originally on Bitbucket by Anonymous
I have lost my manually merge files by open a third party merge tool. (Meld in my case)
If you open a merge tool, the workspace file is replaces by the $base file without any warning, losing all manual an mercurial resolving you have done so far. This cost me a lot of extra time recently.
Some times later, I found my edits in an .orig file in the folder. This is not obvious since the file content just changes in the IDE. At least the user should be warned.
Since the merge tools support the diff urls and one output url, it is not required to change the output file before at all. I actually like to continue my manual merges using a full power diff tool, without copying anything around.
The mercurial merge results using >>>>>> is a nice start by the way.